#atinylife Listening

Today I have been thinking about … listening.

I listen to a whole lot of things I don’t want to hear these days.

The news is probably the worst. I yell at the radio while politicians make shopping list of guns in the same breath as they list thousands they will no longer help.Listening.JPG

I love my children, but in all their waking hours, it’s a constant torrent of ‘Mummy? Mummy?’

At church, sometimes the music is truly divine. Other times, not so much.

In the corner shop, I stand silent, shocked at the lack of compassion for people two streets away, two continents away.

Still, I would give you my eyes before I gave you my ears.

Music, spoken word, laughter, true conversation, ideas zinging around a room.

And sometimes, it is just as important to listen to the silence.

2 thoughts on “#atinylife Listening

  1. Some days I’m not “mummy”, I’m Esmerelda. And sometimes my response is not an answer to the billionth question….it’s ‘this is time for nothing but breaths; soft, silent, glorious breaths – and p’haps, a cuddle’.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

