#atinylife Judgement by Yvonne Dalziel

 

 

She squeezes into the seat across from me

Two – equally large daughters – manoeuvre across the aisle

They look poor – cheap leisure wear – but good phones

Opens giant size bag of crisps and offers them

daughters decline – they have their own

Headline in my quality paper screams ‘What can we do about our dire diet?’

she reads, glances across, shrugs

With my perfect BMI I snack on a crunchy apple

feel my judgementJudgement

But who am I to judge this sad-looking woman?

She may have problems that are my nightmares

I sit there, unwashed hair, sweaty armpits,

clashing pink hat, green scarf, red body warmer

struggling to keep warm

The smart quilted coat was left on the train that divided at Crianlarich

It went to Fort William while I went Oban

What is there to judge?

 

Leave a Reply

