#atinylife Knee

 

The warmth of his comfortable weight.

His hand fiddles

with my thumbnail,

his feet dangle

to my knees.

 

His hair as 

soft and fluffy as

the inside of his favourite jumper,

a perfect mess of haywire strands,

always in need of a cut.

 

His breathing inhales, exhales through my body:

lift, then relax.

The angle:

a view of angelic eyelashes.

 

He leans into my chest,

content, safe.

Despite

being pinned to the chair

by this sweetest of distractions,

despite

all the other things I could be doing,

should be doing,

I stay here.

Rooted.

 

Let me savour this moment,

for those for whom the moment never comes,

for the years and years beyond this day

when he won’t sit on my knee anymore. FullSizeRender (15)

 

And 140 words is not enough,

to describe this,

the feeling

of my son

sitting on my knee.

3 thoughts on “#atinylife Knee

Leave a Reply

