#atinylife Refugee

I am watching

the refugee video

on Facebook.

 

It’s a list of the things people took with them.

One nappy, the actor says.

One nappy.

 

And my son calls

from the living room

‘Mum?

Is it

time

to

go

yet?’

 

He is in the living roomfullsizerender-30

of my house.

I am in the kitchen

of my house,

watching the refugee video

on my computer

in my kitchen

of my house.

 

One nappy. Phone, sim card.

Wrap them in a plastic bag,

pay all you have,

get into a boat

 

with your children, and …

 

In my house,

in my kitchen,

my son is going out.

Later, he will come home.

Later, I will lock the door

 

of my house.

 

Fall asleep, in bed.

I’ll be warm. Home.

 

And I’ll vaguely remember

a video

I watched

earlier,

on Facebook.

On my computer.

2 thoughts on “#atinylife Refugee

Leave a Reply

