#atinylife Snow in March

The sun had been out

warm – well, through a window, anyway.

Chat at the school gates

was all about Spring,

finally.

Here at last.

 

Later, on the phone to my mother,

she told me

according to the weather she’d heard

we’d have snow tomorrow.

 

Aye, right.

 

The next day I woke

to snow falling from a slate sky

as if March was clinging to

WinterSnow in March

frightened of what Spring

might mean.

 

I pulled gloves onto

my frosted fingers

turned the heat back up

in the car.

The hat hadn’t fallen out of use

because of gnawing Spring winds.

 

And I told myself:

‘Snow up to Palm Sunday.

It’s always possible.’

It’s my version of

‘ne’er cast a clout

till may be out,’

because I don’t know

what may looks like

(it’s the flower, not the month.)

 

Scotland will surprise you.

2 thoughts on “#atinylife Snow in March

Leave a Reply

